Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 08-27-2017, 05:22 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default What causes Fuel Gauge Sending Units to fail?

It appears that the sending unit in my 68 Lemans has failed.

It did so, midway through a tank of gas from a non top tier gas station that I have never used before.

Does/can poor quality gas cause sending units to fail?

If so, any way to bring the sending unit back to life?

I am running a Tanks Inc. in tank Fuel Pump so I don't need fuel pickup etc.

What is the best sending unit for me to run?

Old 08-27-2017, 05:55 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Send a message via AIM to JLMounce

Are you running the tanks in sender as well?

Their basic sending unit is somewhat of a notorious piece. Mine worked for about 3 weeks and stopped working.

It's probably just coincidence that it happened after filling up at an unknown station.

The tanks inc floatless sender is a bit expensive but is the one most people recommend with their tanks.

Old 08-27-2017, 06:24 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I am using stock GM sender. I modified stock tank to use Tanks Inc "insert" about 10 years ago

Old 08-27-2017, 07:03 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I am using stock GM sender. I modified stock tank to use Tanks Inc "insert" about 10 years ago

Old 08-27-2017, 07:31 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I've got a NOS sender for my 78 I bought from GM pulled it out hooked an ohmmeter and shot. Was good when I bought it about 82.

1965 GTO 4 barrel 3 speed project
2004 GTO Pulse Red stock motor computer tune 13.43@103.4
1964 Impala SS 409/470ci 600 HP stroker project
1979 Camaro IAII Edelbrock head 500" 695 HP 10.33@132 3595lbs
Old 08-27-2017, 08:55 PM
Boost Engineer

Have you actually pulled the tank fuel sender out of the tank?

If you did that and saw that the housing (plastic) was deteriorated then I would blame it on the fuel attacking a plastic sender unit housing that was not designed (years ago) to be compatible with today's 'Corn Gas'.

Tom V.