Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 02-01-2015, 09:05 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Why not many 4.5" stroke cranks

I was just browsing Butlers site and I see they have a kit with a 4.5" stroke forged crank. I dont read everything here, but is there some reason these arent used much? Seems on the site they are actually cheaper than the 4.25" stroke kit. Hope this isnt a super dumb question, but im pretty new at this. "No replacement for displacement" isnt true in this case?

Old 02-01-2015, 09:13 PM
Ultimate Warrior

i'm not an expert, but i think side load and piston speed might be deterrents in stock blocks.

I'd like to hear more on this topic as I was thinking of going this route as well. what is the recommended safe rpm with a stock 3" main block.

Old 02-02-2015, 12:27 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Maybe the 4.5 would require clearancing in the block where the 4.25 doesnt

https://www.youtube.com/@CatfishMotorsports
Old 02-02-2015, 12:55 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Piston speed by itself shouldn't be a limiting factor. A 4.25" stroke will have the same piston speed at 6,400 RPM as that of a 4.5" stroke at 6,000. So really not a deal breaker. Side loading shouldn't be much of a problem either if the block is sonic checked and wall thickness is decent. I built out a 389 2-bolt block with the 4.5" stroke for a friend and chipped it at 6,000 RPM just to give the block a fighting chance. Built over a year ago and he's still shredding tires. The real danger is to his drivetrain.

Also installed a 4.5" stroke forged crank into a friend's 428 4-bolt main block with billet steel caps that's in his drag car. He runs 9.6 in the quarter, and races it like he stole it.

Old 02-02-2015, 08:26 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Really no reason not to use the bigger cranks. My father just had Bischoff build a stroker with a 4.75" crank, shoved in an MR1 block. Bischoff said it would spin 7,000 easily and he would spec a cam to make power up there if my father wanted to do that.