Old 07-12-2014, 06:45 PM

Default 1964 4 Speed Console Reproduction Project

I tried to find the old thread but couldn't find it. Within the last several months, there have been discussions about reproducing the 64 4 speed console. I believe that someone said that a donor console would be needed to help with the possibility of bringing this project to fruition, assuming the demand would be there and the economics would make sense.

With the help and generosity of a good friend who has asked to remain anonymous, I have an acceptable 64 4 speed console that we are willing to donate for the cause.

Old 07-14-2014, 11:25 AM
Ultimate Warrior

I was sort of leading this up. I was able to purchase a 4 speed console base for a mold.

I'm waiting for it to get here.

Here is the dynamics as I see it, and how it can be done. Firstly, I have some experience with an effort like this. I sent a gas door ornament to Peter Gee to reproduce. I just wanted to see it get done to go with the tail lights. My outlay was minimal. I send a door I had that was a 6/10. I explained what needed to be done, and the expectation of the final product. All I wanted was one replacement for the one I donated. I did tell them that I felt they would sell as many as the tail lights that they sold. I checked on the project every 2-3 months for what seemed like a year. Calls and emails. It was always "in process" I never heard from them again until the final product was released and I called up and asked what the hey? They sent me a new repo piece, and that was it. No discounts on future purchase etc. I even asked about volume discount, but they were not offering me much more that 10%. I'm 99% certain that the parts houses got a significant discount but probably had to buy 10 units and up, but don't know for sure.