THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 10-02-2011, 10:48 AM
Senior Chief

Location: Illinois-Where Our Ex-Governors Make Our License Plates
Default Thanks Autozone!!

In the past, I have bashed Autozone several times on this forum, mainly because of defective parts and lousy service. Thought I would give them some good press for a change.

Yesterday, my son and I did a brake job on his G5 GT. New rotors and pads all the way around. Bought the parts from Rock Auto, and saved about $140 vs. buying them locally. The fronts went on in about 45 minutes, then we started the rears. I have never done rear disc brakes before. After about 30 minutes of trying to push the piston into the caliper with a c-clamp, like I do with the front calipers, I knew something wasn’t going right. (Lucky I didn’t damage the caliper.) I called my buddy, and he told me that the rear piston actually turns into the caliper, and I needed a special tool. He said that Autozone sells the tool for about $10.00.

Went to Autozone and the guy said that he could sell me the tool, or they lend it out for free, just having to leave a deposit. Borrowed the tool, finished the job in no time, returned the tool and got all out money back. Thanks Autozone!!

Don’t you just love stories with a happy ending!!!

Old 10-02-2011, 07:39 PM
Senior Chief

Location: Gilroy, California, USA-Garlic Capital of the world!
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBONES152 View Post
Went to Autozone and the guy said that he could sell me the tool, or they lend it out for free, just having to leave a deposit. Borrowed the tool, finished the job in no time, returned the tool and got all out money back. Thanks Autozone!!

Don’t you just love stories with a happy ending!!!