Old 06-29-2011, 05:39 AM

Default HELP, R&R FLOOR PAN.

I have a 81 trans am that i need to replace the floor pan on the drivers side, i've never done this before and i would appreciate any help on cutting out the old and installing the new one. i bought a new floor pan that measures around 49x21, i bought a rand welder and welding rods. i'm thinking that i would lay the new pan down over the old and trace it then cut about a 1/2 inch on the inside of the line, does that sound about right? and i was wondering what needs to be done with the bolt holes for the seat brackets. and what type of tool would i use to cut out the old pan? thanks for any help.

Old 06-29-2011, 11:38 AM
Ultimate Warrior

There are a couple of crossmembers under the floorpan that the seat bolts to - DO NOT cut these crossmembers out when you remove the old floorpan. As far as the rest - I don't know.

Old 06-30-2011, 04:12 AM

thanks mikeb, would you know how these crossmembers are connected to the floor pan? are they spot welded?

Old 06-30-2011, 07:11 PM

the braces are spot-welded to the floor. As far as tracing out the new floor and leaving a half-inch overlap, that sounds good. If you have air, I would use a cutoff wheel to get the old floor out. If not, I suppose a sawzall or electric grinder would do the trick, but be careful! I'm not sure how bad your floor is, but remember, you don't need to use the whole replacement floor. The more you can leave original, (as long as it's good) the better. Good luck!

Old 06-30-2011, 07:39 PM