Ames Customer Satisfaction Forum Post a 'current' compliment, suggestion or issue with regard to an Ames service or product.

Old 02-23-2010, 11:02 AM
Senior Chief

Default Might have placed my last order with PY

I've been ordering parts for almost 7 years from PY. I received a shipment last night. Half the order was on BO. Not a problem; most I was aware of. No where in the order was the 4 speed plug (which I was assured was in stock). But, manifold bolts were included (one digit off of the plug). Also, no spark plug retainers were shown which were also ordered.

Today, I was told that the 4 speed plug was discontinued a long time ago. Why wouldn't the lady I ordered with have known that? I specifically asked for her to check availability. The bolt kit was simply added to the order. PY would be happy to refund my money for the bolts I never ordered; just pack them up, take them to the post office, stand in line, then get a credit from PY...because they don't send return labels for their own mistakes.

Then comes the suggestion..."you SURE you didn't give them the wrong number...." I have always wondered how much mail order companies make from including items that were never ordered because the hassle of return is not worth it for a lot of companies.

For $19.00 (cost of the bolts), its not worth two hours of my time and energy to send it back...because of a PY policy and a PY mistake. I placed my last order.

Old 03-03-2010, 06:46 PM
Administrator

I'm sorry you had such a bad experience. It's pretty clear that the only logical reason for the lady to tell you the item you wanted was in stock was because she was looking up the manifold bolts part number which was one digit off and was in stock. Why would anybody tell you that a discontinued part was in stock? I appologize for her looking up the wrong part number.