Old 03-23-2008, 12:47 AM

Send a message via AIM to VergeGTO
Default Village Idiot needs more help - steering wheel puller

I think I've alluded to this before... but I am no master mechanic/electrical engineer. Some of the stuff I read on here amazes me. The high point of my technical experience has been replacing disc brakes or the occasional exhaust system on some of the "current" year vehicles I've owned. Regardless, I love my '64, have always wanted one, and am so happy to be learning as I go.
Fortunately Easter has come early for me, and I was the winning bidder on eBay for a beautiful '64 custom sport wood steering wheel. Whoo Hoo! I've taken off "most" of my Grant wheel and am now down to what I believe is a "conversion piece". It's a steel block that I think has to come off. I've been told I need a steering wheel puller to accomplish this. I purchased a universal Grant steering wheel puller and am eagerly awaiting it in the mail.
How this tool is supposed to work still confuses me. It just looks like a steel plate and a set of bolts that can go through it in various places. I'm sure the tool will arrive with a very rudimentary set of instructions. I don't understand how I can screw bolts into something... in order to remove it? Any insight/tips would be appreciated. - Happy Easter to all

Old 03-23-2008, 01:56 AM
Ultimate Warrior

The bolts go in the steering wheel. There is a center piece that screws down to the shaft that the steering nut goes onto. As you tighten that piece down the bar tries to pull the bolts up , which in turn pulls the steering wheel up.

Old 03-23-2008, 10:46 PM

Default Makes sense, thank you.

Here is the puller I'm waiting on;
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Steer...QQcmdZViewItem

Attached is a picture of the foriegn "chunk" sitting on my column.

I take it that I'll screw the three outside bolts in until they are seated, then crank in the center bolt as it slowly lifts off the column.

A few questions remaining;