Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 02-23-2007, 05:00 PM
Suspended

Default thoughts on buying from e-bay

I really don,t agree with some guys who think ebay,s bad, 90% of the time carbs. are sold as is, the no.s are given to you, usually it says needs rebuilt, most carbs i bought may need new fuel inlet repairs but shoot its over 30 yrs old, right. I personally would never take a carb. from anybody out of a box unless i made a few simple checks first. I just bought one with no sec. cam left, it clearly stated carb. sold as is.Im no expert and don,t clame to be, but i truley believe we know what the seller is saying, I usually start with new jets, metering rods. and float , before id even start any car up.If you want a 30.00$ carb. you are buying a 30.00$ carb. If you want a 400.00$ carb. well need i repeat myself?? Enjoy the hobby guys!!

Old 02-24-2007, 02:20 AM

90 percent of my car is built from ebay stuff. I either get "Slightly Used" or "New In The Box And Never Used" parts most of the time. I've saved probably THOUSANDS by getting stuff that people bought new, never used and decided to go a different route with.

Old 02-24-2007, 02:30 AM
Senior Chief

i cant complain.i just picked up a new in the box....msd ready to run dist for 236.00

69 bird, 428 custom solid roller, rpm intake, #62 heads sd ported 260 cfm, 850 holley dp. arias pistons.scat rods redneck tranny, continental 3200 stall
Old 02-24-2007, 02:32 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Thumbs up

I've saved several hundred bucks, buying parts for my 66 Tempest Drag car Project, off of Ebay, To Date, I've had no problem dealing there. you can find some deals on there, not everything goes for "stupid money"

Old 02-24-2007, 03:10 AM
Ultimate Warrior

i wish ebay was around or more popular 10 years ago and i would have saved even more...just like the old saying goes..."let the buyer beware" just like in any transaction...saving includes being able to sell pontiac parts online as well as buying...