Non Pontiac Motors in Pontiacs includes factory 403,305,350 Chevy, Buick V6,
Also Pontiac Motors in non-Pontiacs!

Old 04-29-2005, 06:58 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Since I am new to Chevy engines, I was wondering if someone could briefly summarize the differences among the various 4 bbl intakes for Chevies. Street intakes, not race units. How are the factory cast iron units? Are certain years better than others, just like with Pontiacs? Who makes the best aluminum street intake?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Old 04-29-2005, 06:58 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Since I am new to Chevy engines, I was wondering if someone could briefly summarize the differences among the various 4 bbl intakes for Chevies. Street intakes, not race units. How are the factory cast iron units? Are certain years better than others, just like with Pontiacs? Who makes the best aluminum street intake?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Old 05-01-2005, 03:06 PM

Dave the factory cast iron stuff is junk go with a edelbrock performer or a performer rpm. One of those intakes would make good power for you[ ckeck the rpm range you want to be in] I have used both of these intakes and loved them both. jim

Old 05-02-2005, 06:17 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Hey Jim, thanks for the reply. What is so bad about the factory cast iron units? The reason I ask is that I have a guy who is willing to give me one for free if I drive to get it. Basically, my Lemans has a 305 2bbl, and I am looking to give it a bit more power.

Old 05-03-2005, 05:38 AM

The only way to get more power out of a 305 is to replace it with something else!

11:89 @ 111.11
Old 05-03-2005, 06:47 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Yeah yeah, I know that the 305 is the crappiest of the Chevy motors!