Members Helping Members help Buying a non Pontiac item, transportation help, Handy-man advice, directions, vacation ideas, places to dine, ebay and generally anything you think might help other members.

Old 10-23-2012, 09:19 PM
Senior Chief

Default Unmatched rod weights - is this a problem? Engine build ricerific

I got a new set of rods(4); 770, 824, 820, and 828 in grams. Is this a problem? What's going on here? The sheet inside says 387 for all big end weights, and two at what looks like 173 and two at 175. Is this a problem?

I haven't weighed them myself yet, but I think this is what they weigh according to the sheet in the box. What should I do? These piglets came from the other side of the globe, and shipping wasn't cheap.

Is my machinist going to have a hissy? - I'm just about to have one.

Old 10-23-2012, 10:38 PM

I'm not an expert but here are the rod weights of the Eagle rods I recently put in my 455 build: http://www.leeseracing.com/wp/2011/10/rod-weights/ Seems like the numbers you are seeing vary substantially more than the ones I used. I paired heavy rods with lighter pistons and tried to put matching weights across from each other (on the same crank journal) - perhaps that same strategy could work with your set, depending on how much your pistons vary, I guess

Old 10-23-2012, 10:57 PM
Senior Chief

Well, if what I read in the box, one of these rods weighs less - in the middle. This is a 4-cyl. I'll try to check tomorrow, but I don't have a fixture.

I can check the overall very accurately, but I really don't like this. This turd is to go to 8500 rpm and one is 50gm lighter. Where the heck is the 50 GM on the others? That's like a 9th of a lb isn't it?

The 173/175 is the little end.

Old 10-24-2012, 12:02 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker