Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 03-12-2014, 03:07 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default Which Clutch Set Would You Use?

I have a question about which clutch set would be better to use....I've narrowed it down to two options....either the Centerforce Dual Friction 148552, or the McCleod 75221 Super Street Pro? Both are 11" 1.125"x26 spline. This is for a 1976 Trans Am 455 100% street car making an est. 420hp/500+ torque

Which would you choose? Only about 20 bucks different in price...

thanks, Brian

Old 03-12-2014, 03:22 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I would use the McCleod simply because I've been running the same McCleod clutch in my '65 GTO for the past 30 years and it's still working fine. High quality stuff. (or at least it used to be!)

Old 03-12-2014, 03:33 PM
Ultimate Warrior

If the centerforce is the one with the weights on it, I'm now personally leary of them. I ran a standard centerforce clutch around 70,000-75,000 miles on my Buick, and swapped it out for a centerforce that had some weight gimmick on the pressure plate, and I don't know if it was the weights or what, but after a bit over 20,000 miles the clutch pedal got hard to push (bent up the lower clutch rod). Swapped out the whole set (including throwout bearing) with a Zoom (never tried them before..) and so far all is good again. Only have about 50 miles on the Zoom so opinion is pending.

Basically, I have no problem getting a centerforce as long as it doesn't have those weight things, and if it does, get the McCleod.

The Silver Buick- '77 Skylark coupe w/455, SPX, MegaSquirt 3 & TKO-600 (Drag Week 2011, 2012 & 2015!)

1969 Firebird with a turbo'd Pontiac L6 controlled by a MegaSquirt 3 and backed with a microsquirt controlled 4L60e and 4.56 gears! (Drag Week 2018!)
Old 03-12-2014, 05:53 PM
Senior Chief