Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 01-04-2002, 12:52 AM

Hello guy's. This is my first time on and I have a question. I am rebuilding the 400 in my 78 t/a I am having a problem with my push rod length. I had the 6x heads milled 0.060 and now it seems as if my stock push rods are to long. Talking to the machine shop they are now telling me {after the fact} that I have to by an adjustable push rod and refigure my valve train geometry. First thing I have no idea how to do this {and they are no help} the other thing is I have read and been told that you can use big block Chevy rocker studs which makes the valves adjustable. Is this true? If so what do I need know and what parts do I need {besides studs}. Do I adjust the valves as I would for a Chevy? Thanks for any help that you can give me.

Old 01-04-2002, 12:52 AM

Hello guy's. This is my first time on and I have a question. I am rebuilding the 400 in my 78 t/a I am having a problem with my push rod length. I had the 6x heads milled 0.060 and now it seems as if my stock push rods are to long. Talking to the machine shop they are now telling me {after the fact} that I have to by an adjustable push rod and refigure my valve train geometry. First thing I have no idea how to do this {and they are no help} the other thing is I have read and been told that you can use big block Chevy rocker studs which makes the valves adjustable. Is this true? If so what do I need know and what parts do I need {besides studs}. Do I adjust the valves as I would for a Chevy? Thanks for any help that you can give me.

Old 01-04-2002, 01:37 AM
Ultimate Warrior