Old 12-16-2023, 03:33 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Arrow The Ultimate Cooling Thread

If your car has cooling issues, especially first gen Firebirds, step in inside!

My journey to keep my '67 Firebird cool in the Florida heat has been a long and expensive one. Along the way I have discovered what works and what doesn't, at least for me. I'm by no means a cooling expert, but maybe some of the things I've learned may help someone find the right combo to keep their car cool & happy.
Since I know the ’67 Firebird, I’ll focus on that, but much of this information can apply to any model.

I bought my ’67 bird in January 1990 and have had trouble keeping it cool, with anything much more than a stock engine, ever since. I completed its restoration and put it back on the road on 1/25/2017 and that’s when my cooling education began.

First Gen Firebirds:
I feel that the 1st gen Firebirds suffer cooling issues due to a small frontal area and a small radiator core. Even the 1st gen Camaro has a larger opening and less obstructions in front of the radiator. While it may be good enough for stockish engines, once you start creating more HP & heat, you’re going to need more air flow through the radiator to get rid of that heat. And THAT, is the short answer to keeping cool; More Air Flow!

I would recommend to any first gen owners looking for better cooling to consider adding the upper baffles that came on 400 & AC cars and the lower baffle. An air dam, aka chin spoiler, can help in directing air through front of the car as well as cleaning up some of the “dirty” air under the car which could help add mpg.
Sealing the gap between the radiator and core support helps. I think that there was a factory rubber seal around the core support opening, but some of the black foam pipe insulation from the hardware store stuffed between the radiator & core support, does a good job and is cheap.

Thermostat: