Old 09-30-2022, 11:13 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default 1964 389 block question

Are all 1964 389 blocks drilled for a block mounted starter? Thanks

Old 09-30-2022, 11:17 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I have been working on Pontiacs for 55 years and I have never seen one that wasn't. I suppose some early built big cars could have been built with left over 1963 blocks.

The Following User Says Thank You to Goatracer1 For This Useful Post:
Old 09-30-2022, 11:51 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Location: 31May2013 Temporary home to the world's widest (that we know of) tornado. Lord, NO more Please...

My 64 Bonne was drilled.

Shut it off
Shut it off
Buddy, I just shut your Prius down...
Old 10-01-2022, 05:53 AM
Ultimate Warrior

All 64 blocks should be ready to accept a block mounted starter since 1964 was the first year for the TB400 trans which never had a provision for a bell housing mounted starter.

Old 10-01-2022, 09:37 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Great. Thanks everyone. I’m headed out this morning to look at a block to use for my 64 GTO project. I decided to set aside the original block - just in case.

Old 10-01-2022, 11:02 PM

When shopping for a starter, some suppliers start the Pontiac block mounted starter in 1965 in their catalogs. FWIW

Old 10-01-2022, 11:44 PM
Ultimate Warrior

The 64 blocks had the starter provision, but it was only used on stick shift cars, and turbine 300 2 speed automatic A body cars. The 64 B bodies were still 4 speed hydra-matics and slim jims, for automatics. 64 stick cars had an new aluminum bell housing, (previous bell housings were cast iron), and a new flywheel that required the block mounted starter. The 2 speed GTO/Tempest/Lemans also required a block mounted starter, but only were used in A bodies. The B bodies still used a bell housing mounted starter on automatics.

The TH 400 first appeared on 65 B bodies, and on 67 GTOs for the first year in an A body.