The Body Shop TECH General questions that don't fit in any other forum

Old 03-29-2024, 06:04 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Replacing a rear quarter panel

I have been working on cars for 60 years and I professional mechanic for over 30. But I was not an auto body man. I have done lots of easy body work over the years. Do you think it would be possible for me to replace the rear quarter panel on a 1964 GP. My grandson has tried to get it fixed with no luck. He keeps getting screwed by body shops. I have seen it done many times but never tried it. My son is a welder by trade and I can gas weld. I am not able to electric weld because I have a pacemaker. I would like to try to help my grandson with his car..

Old 03-29-2024, 09:24 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

I would suggest that it would be best to use a high quality mig to weld in a new quarter and by somebody who has experience butt welding that gauge of sheetmetal. My big question is whether you can find a relatively rust free donor car. Also have a question to whether your grandson's car has rust or not. A rusted outer wheelhouse panel will complicate things.

'55 Chevy Bel Air Sport Coupe - Ram Jet 350 / T56 Magnum 6spd, Restomod Completed Sept. 2012, Sold Sept. 2021 PHOTO
Old 03-29-2024, 09:37 PM
Senior Chief

Are you talking about a complete quarter or patch panels? There are lots of good video's on YouTube doing metalwork.

Old 03-30-2024, 12:08 AM
Ultimate Warrior

The car is an almost rust free Ca. car that was hit on the left side. We have a used complete quarter pan from another car already. The damage is not extensive but the panel is creased vertically and dented bad enough that fixing it would not be practical. If I do it I am planning on removing the old panel at the factory spot welds. There would be little or no butt welding. I planned on removing it at the door jam, pinch weld, at the welds behind the chrome trim where the roof meets the quarter and behind the quarter panel extension.