Suspension TECH Including Brakes, Wheels and tires

Old 03-14-2009, 12:24 AM
Senior Chief

Default Hydroboost and master cylinder

I'm looking into doing a hydroboost conversion and have been reading different threads. The Astro van hydroboost appears to be a good match for these cars, so that's what I'm probably going to look for.

I got a new master cylinder with my Baer brakes kit fairly recently. Can I use it with an Astro van hydroboost? If I need a different master cylinder, what do I need?

---------------------------
'96 Corvette Grand Sport (#470 of 1000 built)
Mildly modded LT4, 6spd
'07 Corvette Z06
Mildly modded LS7, 6spd
'67 Chevelle Convertible
LS6 (405HP Z06), 700R4
Old 03-14-2009, 09:43 PM
Ultimate Warrior

GS470 - Your MC will PROBABLY bolt up and function, but it is probably not the ideal bore size for using with HB. The Astro HB puts out much more pressure than a vacuum booster with the same size MC bore so you will probably want a larger bore MC.

From what I have read, a lot of people use a 1 1/8" bore MCs, but I am using the HB and MC from 92 Astro (1 1/4" bore) on my 68 and I would prefer for it to require more pedal pressure. If I could find one that fit for a reasonable price, I would get a MC with a bore larger than 1 1/4".

If I were to do it over again, I would consder using a late model Mustang HB and MC instead.

The Mustang HB puts out less pressure than the Astro HB, but still more than a typical vacuum booster unit and I think it may be a better option.

Old 03-15-2009, 09:10 PM
Senior Chief

Thanks for the reply, Joel. I'm no expert in this area, so I've got a couple more questions.