Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 11-02-2017, 04:42 PM
Senior Chief

Default Sleeves In A Pontiac

I'm in the process of getting my original WV code 389 tri power block machined and I have 2 cylinders that may need sleeves or thin wall liners.

I've read over and over you cannot sleeve a Pontiac or it will crack the head when you torque it. this makes no sense to me at all. my machinist says he can use a plate when he does it that will solve any issues . like myself he is tying to find an answer to this no sleeve thing before we proceed. we think .60 over would be doable if sleeves are not an option but we'd rather line it if possible.

I realize it would be better to start over with a new block but since I have the original M20 I'd like to keep the original engine in it for obvious reasons. I'm willing to do whatever is needed to accomplish this I just don't want to screw it up.

Any insight on this is welcome. I've never tried to save a questionable block before.

Old 11-02-2017, 04:44 PM
Ultimate Warrior

PM GTOFREEK he will tell you more information about machining a pontiac than you could ever comprehend

Old 11-02-2017, 05:13 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

I've got 40000 miles on a 455 with a sleeve in it. No problems.

1970 GTO, 455+.034", 0 deck, Wiseco's, Eagle rods, 60919, Rhoads, E-Heads, 1.65 Scorpions, RPM, Custom Qjet by Cliff, Doug's 1 7/8", THM 400, Gear Vendors OD, 3.55s.........Her name is Blandorf; after a girl I knew once, 'cause she's just Bitchin, always.
Old 11-02-2017, 08:10 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Sleeving a Pontiac is no different than sleeving any block. I would definitely advise against thin wall sleeves for any performance application. A straight sleeve (3/32 wall minimum) should take care of any problem your block has as long as the machinist is familiar with straight sleeves.

Dr. Thomas Sowell
Old 11-02-2017, 08:36 PM
Senior Chief