Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 07-03-2009, 08:59 AM

Question Gas dropping down in Center Carb at Idle

Hello, When the car is cold and first start the engine. It blows out a lot of smoke and if you look down in the center carb you can see fuel dropping down. I have cut the Power Valve spring to the point it does not seem to have any spring pressure. When the motor is hot is idles great and does not drop fuel into the carb. I have tried adjusting the choke open a little, but then it will go dead when you let off the pedal. I have 11 vaccum.
455 30 over and Eheads, aluminum intake, no crossover.
Thank you for your help again.
Dave

Old 07-03-2009, 09:28 AM
Suspended

Dave, im no expert by any means but the problem is in the idle circuit, Pull the venturi out of center carb and check the dia. of the holes(on the end) in the 2 tubes, they should be on the outboard side of the venturi, you may have to open them up by .002 and try that.
Best way i can explain it, put your hands around you throat and slowly sqeeze, yes your getting air but not enough, release your hands or put a bigger hole in your throat and you get all the air you want. Most carbs. today and yesteryear. run very lean, i believe this should take care of your problem or call Mike from Mike,s tri-ppower,s he should also be able to help you out with otherthings.

Old 07-03-2009, 11:21 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Try disabling the choke. It's not gonna work right with no crossover anyway. If it doesn't spillover when hot, it's probably something with the choke.

If it is adjusted for proper mixture hot, it should be very lean when cold. Yours is running rich if it's blowing black smoke cold. My first thought was a stuck power valve, but if it doesn't do it hot, that's probably not it, unless your vacuum when cold is low enough to open it.