Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 02-11-2018, 07:08 PM

Default 1970 350 2bbl to 1966 AFB 4bbl swap

Hello everyone, I'm new to Pontiacs, recently purchased a 1970 Lemans Sport. I plan on using it to drive to work on nice days. It's 350 2 bbl auto A/C, 129,000 . This is not going to be at full restoration at least of now. I was given a 4bbl intake with a Carter AFB from a 1966 Bonneville. Will it fit on the 70 350 and second is it worth the trouble or should I just pass it on to someone with a 66 fullsize? It will most likely need to be rebuilt as it has been sitting about ten years.
I would like to keep the 350 in the car, just wake it up a little with a cam or head change, thanks for any tips and suggestions.

Old 02-11-2018, 07:12 PM
Ultimate Warrior

There are guys here who like the AFB. I'm not one of 'em.

I'd go with a Q-jet and either an iron intake or a Performer.

I assume that the 1st 350's to use a Q-jet were the 350HO engines. Last ones were the '77 350's. Those last ones were 800cfm. The early ones were 750cfm.

Those late 800cfm models are considered very good for high performance street carbs. They have the APT feature and can easily be changed over to an elec choke, which many prefer.

"...I would like to keep the 350 in the car, just wake it up a little with a cam or head change, thanks for any tips and suggestions..."

If the rings will maintain a good seal, with a little more cyl pressure, a small Voodoo cam, such as a 250 or 256 should perk it up a bit. But with 129k miles, the extra pressure might be too much for ring seal.

http://www.lunatipower.com/Product.aspx?id=1773&gid=287

http://www.lunatipower.com/Product.aspx?id=1774

Would probably need stronger springs, such as the CC 988-16, assuming a 1.60 installed height.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Comp-Cams-9...38.m2548.l4275

Cheapest cam is probably the Summit 2800

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/s...RoCijAQAvD_BwE