PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together

PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Pontiac - Street (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=418)
-   -   angle torque bolts. (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=873435)

KEN CROCIE 04-29-2024 05:18 PM

angle torque bolts.

Any one here reuse angle torque bolts and just retorque them./ Other than you are not supposed to reuse them and replace with new ones, have there been any problems?

tooski 04-29-2024 10:01 PM

If I understand it would be a bolt that would be torqued to an initial value then final torqued using an angle torque meter as opposed to a specific setting? I'm only a diy mechanic but about the only time I heard of a single use bolt is a torque to yield bolt which can only be torqued once which I have no doubt you are familiar with.

Goatracer1 04-29-2024 10:06 PM

Before I retired and still worked as a Chrysler tech the factory told us we could reuse head bolts as long as there was no sign of stretching (necking down).

65 Lamnas 04-30-2024 12:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KEN CROCIE (Post 6500803)
Any one here reuse angle torque bolts and just retorque them./ Other than you are not supposed to reuse them and replace with new ones, have there been any problems?

There is a "torque-to-angle" procedure (TTA) that can be used on most any bolt. Since the bolt has stretched but not yielded, it can be reused.

In addition, there's also a "torque-to-yield" procedure (TTY) which uses a different type of bolt that should NOT be reused. It won't clamp correctly after yielding due to loss of elasticity.

Are you asking if someone has "done it anyway" and re-used the TTY bolts? Sorry, just not sure I'm understanding your question.

KEN CROCIE 04-30-2024 01:38 PM

Thank you all..