THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 01-22-2018, 05:34 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Anyone from southern/central Indiana? Thinking of taking a job there.

This is probably lame but I dont know anyone from the area so I dont know who to ask. Im sure some would ask why I would want to move from California, but I live in the worse part of California. I hate the desert. Its dead. My truck bed is literally filled with tumbleweeds right now that grew in my yard while I was away for work.

Anyway, for 4 years I have been a deployable aircraft mechanic. Ive been kicking around the idea of getting out. The money is good but Im tired of spending half my life in Iraq and Afghanistan. I got an offer from Crane at the big Naval research facility there (Which is weird for it to be in Indiana.)

Nearest notably sized city is Bloomington, which looks nice. I dont have anything to go on but pictures and some livability metrics. I was thinking I would live slightly outside of it so I can buy a decent sized piece of land and hopefully a couple outbuildings for my obvious hobby.

So from anyone thats been in the area how is it? Riddled with meth? Not bad? Im originally from western wisconsin, the winters there are brutal, but it seems like while you get a clear 4 seasons in Lower Indiana some of the bite is removed.

Topography is the super hilly? How necessary is 4wd in the winter? Right now I daily drive a 2007 Corvette. Im guessing thats a bad idea there, should I trade the corvette in for a truck before I leave California? Prices might be a little higher but I would guess its better to buy a used truck that has never seen salt.

https://www.youtube.com/@CatfishMotorsports
Old 01-22-2018, 05:42 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Do you like basketball?

Santa Claus land is around there I think.
Actually the area is beautiful, don't know about living there though.